Thursday, November 9, 2017

MAYA || What We Are Worth


The ever lovely MAYA is back on the the blog this week, and it's been non-stop work since she last stopped by. Recently dropping her seductive second single for the year, What We Are Worth, this girl just keeps on getting better. You've seen the photo of her above, and I promise, her music is just as captivating as those curls.

Growing into herself as a pop soul artist, What We Are Worth is the product of MAYA's own questions to the universe and putting down her answers without apology. "It's a song about yourself and the earth we live in," explains MAYA of her desire to inspire people in reassessing their impact on life.

Having gained invaluable experience through a 2017 spent split between Los Angeles, New York City and her hometown of Melbourne, MAYA is back in Australia in time for the official launch of What We Are Worth. Those in attendance are the lucky ones that will witness what is undoubtedly a special night on the music calendar.

"People can expect some serious euphoric dancing and soul-searching."


MAYA ‘WHAT WE ARE WORTH’ LAUNCH SHOWS

THUR NOVEMBER 30 | FERDYDURKE, MELBOURNE VIC | 18+

FRI DECEMBER 1 | THE NIGHT CAT, FITZROY VIC | 18+
Tickets available from www.thenightcat.com.au

Youtube | Facebook

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Sarah McLeod || Rocky Diner Tour


Sarah McLeod is one seriously busy lady. The ARIA award-winner is in the midst of her Rocky Diner Tour, hitting Australia in nearly every place possible. McLeod's self-confessed "short attention span" is perhaps the reason fans have been waiting, patiently, twelve years for this latest solo record. But with time comes the obvious growth that is showcased on Rocky's Diner. "With every song I write I learn so much more, it's like I teach myself as I go.  It feels like I learn something new every day, which is really strange at my age. This record was a really big step in a good direction for me."

Plucking her studio hideout straight from Craigslist was a gamble that paid off. It was there, holed up in New York City, that the new album took shape. "I needed to write it all in one hit," explains McLeod. Her self-established isolation opened the musical floodgates and crafted Rocky's demo tapes. The love is evident in her tracks, with McLeod enthusing, "I'm so glad I took the care with the lyrics. I'm feeling every word".

While it's been a long time between drinks for her solo career, McLeod hasn't been sitting around in bed socks watching the world pass her by. Her band The Superjesus, and reason for her ARIA win, released singles in 2015 and the Love and Violence EP hit listeners in August 2016. Always experimenting and honing her craft, Mcleod surprised her audience with a light dose of EDM in songs He Doesn't Love You and Hurricane. Alongside her bandmates, she was inducted into the South Australian Music Hall of Fame earlier this year. It's all in a day's work for this homegrown talent.

McLeod is currently on the road, alongside her beloved dog Chachi, playing as many stops as possible. While it's been a long time coming, McLeod is ode to why growing up doesn't mean stepping out. After all, talent like hers never goes out of style.

SARAH MCLEOD ROCKY’S DINER TOUR - UPCOMING DATES

FRI 3 NOV | WARATAH HOTEL, HOBART, TAS | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SAT 4 NOV | CLUB 54, LAUNCESTON, TAS | 18+

Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SUN 5 NOV | JIVE, ADELAIDE, SA | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

WED 29 NOV | THE CURTIN, MELBOURNE, VIC | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

THURS 30 NOV | THE BASEMENT, CANBERRA, ACT | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SAT 2 DEC | THE FOUNDRY, BRISBANE, QLD | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

THURS 7 DEC | THE HEN HOUSE, BADLANDS BAR, PERTH, WA | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

FRI 8 DEC | THE ODD FELLOW, FREMANTLE, WA | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SAT 9 DEC | PRINCE OF WALES, BUNBURY, WA | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

FRI 15 DEC | HERITAGE HOTEL, BULLI, NSW | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SAT 16 DEC | THE LANSDOWNE, SYDNEY | 18+
Tickets available from http://sarahmcleod.oztix.com.au/ | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

RYA PARK || Billy

RYA PARK is the indie new comer ready to name and shame a past lover with her sultry new tune Billy. Rya Park is ready to make her mark and she's unapologetic in her road to getting there. Dropping the track on October 6, Rya holds her own in the accompanying video - perched alone and singing direct to camera. It's personal and direct while meaning a whole lot of business. 

With new shows ahead in November, Rya explains her passion for live performance say "[it's] definitely one of my favourite things about making music...to be able to share the music you've been working on live with fans is just such a unique experience".

Billy is a song that leaves you wanting just a little bit more; much like Rya Park herself.

Thanks so much for stopping by for a chat! How’s 2017 been treating you so far?
This year has gone so fast and has been an absolute blast. Being in the studio recording my EP with Peter Farnan, was such a fantastic experience and I seriously loved every moment. I’ve been performing lots with my band around town and am really looking forward to going on tour in November!

Your debut track Billy is an entrance that pulls no punches, how has it changed over the writing and recording process?
It hardly changed at all. Normally I pull apart my lyrics but for Billy it all just came out very organically onto the page and I just really liked the way I could say exactly what I thought without holding back. Within the recording process it changed slightly in some sections. Peter and I were definitely on the same page with the recording process as we didn’t want my music to be overproduced at all. Some parts of the song he would just press record and say “do something”. That’s what actually formed one of the sections in the song!

It’s clearly written with someone in mind, did knowing they might hear the song affect it in any way?
At the time of writing it, it had actually been a few years since I’d spoken to that person and in a way I did really want to grab their attention. I thought about changing the name a lot because I was nervous about it being so direct but in the end I just loved the concept of it being so raw and honest and about a real person. 

With this being your first official single, were you nervous about the best song for the job? Were there others in the running or was Billy always going to be the debut?
There was definitely another song in the running, however I think Billy painted the best picture for the vibe that I wanted to put out there as my first song. It’s dark, it’s moody and knowing that it was slightly left of field made me want to release it first. I like to think of it as a bit of a teaser into my musical world rather than my “best song”. 

I’m a huge fan of the video for this track: straight to the point and unashamed to take up space, kudos! How did you find the process?
Thankyou! Dan Howe was the director for the film clip and we had an incredible time planning the shoot. He’s seen me perform so many times so he knew exactly what I meant when I said I wanted to create a mood and vibe for the video rather than depict a certain storyline. The process was very simple but still very well and clearly thought out. I was so excited to get behind the camera though! I loved it.

How has it felt so far to perform this track live and to get feedback straight away from the audience?
It was amazing to be able to perform the song live. The feedback I have received for Billy so far has been incredible. It’s really humbling when you can feel that people are just rooting for you!



Saturday 4 November | OXFORD ARTS FACTORY GALLERY, SYDNEY | 18+
   Thursday 9 November | THE EVELYN, MELBOURNE | 18+

Facebook || Twitter || Instagram

Friday, January 27, 2017

"Gin makes me tick." || Meet CLOVES



Hello, I’m Cloves and gin makes me tick. It's a solid introduction, straight to the point in a way that matches her music, even while seemingly opposing her girl-next-door-turned-rock-chick look. Barely in her twenties, this powerhouse from Melbourne has already paved herself a path to London, an EP and now the lead single from her upcoming album is here, with a class video in tow.

Explaining the latest track, Better Now, Cloves explains the tune as coming "from the breakdown of a long-term relationship and the internal dialogue of the time". In her typically blunt style, the singer is direct in her relationship to the song but says that music is also "up for the listeners' interpretation". It's this matter of fact style that sets her apart from everyone else, despite the common themes that run through her music - love, relationships and how people deal when these things fall apart. "I just try to write something that feels as genuine to me as possible," Cloves explains.

With the album in the pipelines for more than two years, Cloves is "very happy" to have a release date within the year. Citing it as her career high thus far, Cloves is the hardworking sweetheart that the music scene has been missing. And while she easily admits that the process of writing and recording her debut LP, Cloves is just as quick to remind everyone, if not just herself, that it's been a fulfilling journey, too.

And finally, hearing your track Don’t Forget About Me in the movie ‘Me Before You’ must’ve been quite something, is this something you’d be keen to do again?
Yes, I would love to write more for film soundtracks!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

The Masters of Sgt Pepper || Panel Event

Fans of The Beatles, and honestly who doesn't fit that category, are in for a treat this coming February with a music panel event headed for Southbank. In celebration of the revolutionary album Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, which spent twenty-seven weeks on top of the album charts in the United Kingdom and fifteen at #1 in the USA. Just casual for a rock band that spent its entire career blazing the trail for pop culture and was the undoubted beginning of boy band hysteria (despite being, arguably, not a boy band).

Aussie fans are set to gain inclusive insight into the makings of the album, with engineers Geoff Emerick and Richard Lush ready to share the highs and lows of the creative process. Complete with personality clashes, the hows of recording and the stories behind the tunes, this is the once in a lifetime event that Beatles fanatics have waited half a century for. For some people it's just music, but for true fans, musicians or anyone who want something deeper, this is the chance to, figuratively at least, meet the band and learn what made them tick. A live audience Q&A session is set to ensure all the important details are covered.

Guests will be greeted and treated by a string quartet in the venue foyer playing renditions of Beatles hits and exclusive memorabilia will be available for purchase. Attendees are in for a stunning experience at Planetshakers Auditorium; the event set to be the sweetest way to honour an album that is both an icon in music history and holds personal sentiment for so many.

In (almost) every bands' career there is an album that stands apart and doesn't need to be toured, tweaked or performed live to make its mark. Pink Floyd had The Dark Side Of The Moon, Cold Chisel had East and The Beatles have Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. Although a mouthful, the album has withstood time, change in popular genre and the end of the band's active musical presence. 

The Masters of Sgt Pepper panel event is being held at Planetshakers Auditorium on February 24 and 25. Tickets are available at the link below.


THE MASTERS OF SGT PEPPER
FRI 24 + SAT 25 FEB | PLANETSHAKERS, CITY ROAD SOUTHBANK, MELBOURNE | ALL AGES

Friday, December 16, 2016

Top 8 Songs of 2016 || The Hiding


        Meet The Hiding, a band that not only make great music but also have great taste in music. Which is perfect, because that is exactly what this space is all about - great music, great artists, great reads. And luckily the kind folks of the band have put together their Top 8 tracks from 2016 into one nifty list right here. Couple it with the groups' very own track, Dream Catcher's Life, a catchy tune all about doing what's right for you despite what others may say. So go pour yourself a drink, get out your speaker and sit back, The Hiding has got you covered. Kudos!

 Lose It – Flume featuring Vic Mensa
        From the first moment that Skin was previewed, this instantly stood out. The way in which the track raises through the intensity of the syths and drums, and how Vic Mensa manipulates the melody of the chorus immediately gets tattoed into your mind with its catchiness. It’s such a big adrenaline rush within the album.

 Holla – LANKS
        This track is a testament to how much LANKS has grown as an artist in such a short period of time. There is so much going on in this track, and lyrically it takes you on a massive journey. LANKS has really captured the essence of his vocals and knows how to manipulate them to perfection. The ‘tribal’ drumming that he creates within the chorus as his own type of ‘drop’ within the track is clever, working his electronic influences into this track to a high standard.

 Nothing Like This – Blonde/Craig David
        Craig David has come back from the dead and I for one am a huge fan of what he’s done this year. Yeah, he took Bieber/Jack U and made it his own, but the track he’s done with Blonde should’ve been bigger than it was in Australia in my opinion. David doesn’t even need to show off his beautiful vocal talents to even sell this one, the production behind it makes great. EDM and Craig David are a match made in heaven.

 You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me – Alex Lahey
        Lahey’s ability to tell a story in a serious yet comedic way is something to be admired. Whenever this one comes on, you just can’t help shouting the chorus at the top of your lungs. It’s just so damn catchy – there’s nothing more you can say!

 Lone – What So Not/Ganz featuring JOY.
        The number one song in the gym playlist of The Hiding. This track is so huge! The build up to the drop is perfect, and the drop is simply awesome (especially at the end of the song). JOY’s reverb soaked vocals are well placed and almost strategically build the emotional context of the song without being the centre point of the song.

 My Love Is Gone – SAFIA
         I can’t fault SAFIA’s debut album in any way. I didn’t think they could top their early stuff, but ‘My Love Is Gone’ raised the bar again. Usually I’m a big sucker for Ben’s vocals (which is the case once again), but the main attraction to this one was the breakdown towards the latter part of the song. SAFIA essentially take you back to the start of the track and build you back up before you can catch your breath. Well played.

 The Noise – Castlecomer
        How Castlecomer aren’t playing stadiums yet is beyond me. I’ll admit that we’ve jumped on them way too late, but oh boy these guys are incredible. The production levels of this one are incredibly good, but they have one of the best live sets I’ve seen in some time. You can tell that considerable amounts of blood, sweat and tears have gone into what they do and it’s paying extreme dividends.

 Waiting – Midnight Pool Party
        Since they came to attention with ‘Stay’, these Sydney lads have kept us waiting for far too long, and they definitely did not disappoint. ‘Waiting’ portrays a classic love story that we’re all too familiar with, but how they continue to bring that party vibe with this one through a strong synth presence and Darren’s smooth vocals is top notch. 

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Castlecomer || Cosmos & Creature || Shenna


CastlecomerJudy (+ All Of The Noise)

With a new album and a half dozen upcoming tour dates, Castlecomer have plenty to be celebrating to be doing. But instead, they're hard at work releasing killer tracks like Judy, a track portraying a taboo relationship from the weaker partner's point of view. It's the tune described by the band as the "most sinister" of their latest 'All Of The Noise' EP. With a little bit of unrequited love and a whole heap head-bopping electric beats, this is a dark song in the most enticing way possible.

With vocals that drawl their way through the tracks, this group have a style that's hard to miss and equally as difficult to top. It's just cool, effortlessly so. Lead vocalist, Bede, suggests that this EP has an overarching theme of escapism and, quite frankly, this is the perfect album to escape into.

To celebrate this head turner album, Castlecomer are heading out on an east coast tour and are working hard on producing a polished show. Or as Bede explains, "In the past we would scribble down a few songs and then change the set completely while on stage, but we’re trying to make it a bit more smooth and professional now.  There’s talk of having a 3 track acoustic part of the set in the middle, and also of doing some house parties during the tour, but we’ll have to map it out with our agent first…!"

CASTLECOMER ‘ALL OF THE NOISE’ NATIONAL TOUR

THU 17 NOV | RAD BAR, WOLLONGONG NSW | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 25 NOV| TRANSIT BAR, CANBERRA ACT | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

SAT 26 NOV | THE REVERENCE HOTEL, MELBOURNE VIC | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 2 DEC | MANNING BAR, SYDNEY NSW | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

THU 15 DEC | THE BRIGHTSIDE, BRISBANE QLD | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 16 DEC | THE NORTHERN HOTEL, BYRON BAY NSW | 18+
Free Entry

Watch the video here.


Cosmos & Creature - Young 
This soft bopper is a an enthralling mix of heavy beats, a little tambourine (ah, how happy is my happy?!) and the captivating vocals that tie it all together. Just in time for some summer dancing, this is a groove to add to any mix, playlist or compilation. It'd just be such a shame to miss out on jamming to this tune.

Cosmos & Creature weren't on my radar until this track, but with a sure-hit like Young don't make the same mistake as me. Keep an eye out, your ears ready and get set for some groovin' with this gem. Kudos to them for this!

Keep groovin' here.


Shenna - So Low

Oh, Shenna, I think you might just have my heart. Quite the fan of anything with some electro vibes (thanks big brother for that!) So Low is the break up, heartache without the angst. Hallelujah! An upbeat, layered track with an R'n'B inspired sound underlying it all. As introductions go, this is perhaps one of the best - if you haven't feasted on Shenna before, start here and dig in.

The unassuming tune is one that covers a hell of a lot in three minutes, forty-six seconds. But mostly, it shows off Shenna as she should be. This is a gal who knows what she's doing, where she's headed and is doing it herself. Invite her to the party, she will absolutely not disappoint.

Avoid feeling low here.